Exclude Excel 2016

If you need help, this is the place to ask for it. No need to register.
DanR

Exclude Excel 2016

Postby DanR » Mon Jul 31, 2017 3:32 pm

I recently installed Microsoft 2016 on my Windows 10 computer. On the Copy tab I had entered "Exclude Clips from selected Programs" and have "Microsoft Excel" entered which worked fine on Excel 2007. Since installing Excel 2016 however, it is recording all copy selections in Excel again. I tried entering "Excel 2016" as the program name, and also "Microsoft Excel 2016" but neither has stopped Spartan from logging the huge copying selections I do in Excel. Any suggestions?

johnturnbull
Site Admin
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Exclude Excel 2016

Postby johnturnbull » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:06 pm

How this facility works is that Spartan looks for the text you have entered in the window caption. For example, in this version of Excel...

excel.jpg
excel.jpg (5.08 KiB) Viewed 224 times

Adding Microsoft or Excel or even Book1 to the "Exclude Clips from selected Programs" will prevent clips being captured.

I don't have Excel 2016 so can't tell what the problems is. If Excel 2016 has a window caption, enter part of it. If it does not have a window caption, it cannot be excluded.

PS. Just looked at some images of Excel 2016 on Google - Just add "Excel" on its own
 

DanR

Re: Exclude Excel 2016

Postby DanR » Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:07 pm

Thanks, that seems to work. I do still see the "Copy" tab blinking back and forth between "Copy" and "?????". Not sure what's causing that?

johnturnbull
Site Admin
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Exclude Excel 2016

Postby johnturnbull » Mon Jul 31, 2017 7:25 pm

It blinks to remind you that not all clips are being captured.

DanR

Re: Exclude Excel 2016

Postby DanR » Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:36 pm

I thought this was working for me because I can no longer hear the bell when copying from excel. However, in the background it seems to still be hindering Excel speed, etc and has crashed Excel a few times. If I close Spartan I can copy large portions of data without trouble. Open Spartan with Excel as a copy exception, and I cannot copy more than a small capture without crashing. Is there an update needed? I like using the clipboard but will need to look for something that works for me.

johnturnbull
Site Admin
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Exclude Excel 2016

Postby johnturnbull » Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:05 pm

What version of Spartan do you have?

DanR

Re: Exclude Excel 2016

Postby DanR » Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:21 pm

15.04

DanR

Re: Exclude Excel 2016

Postby DanR » Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:39 pm

Spartan Lite Multi Clipboard. It is the free version.

johnturnbull
Site Admin
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Exclude Excel 2016

Postby johnturnbull » Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:06 pm

There are several new features since 15.04. See http://m8software.com/newfeatures/spartan.htm

None of them will address the problem you are having with Excel 2016. I suggest you contact Microsoft and let them know that this version is crashing (like many previous versions) when it tries to access the clipboard when the clipboard has been allocated to another App. They will know what you mean. This has been an ongoing problem with Excel for at least 25 years.

 

DanR

Re: Exclude Excel 2016

Postby DanR » Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:04 pm

I did not have this trouble on Excel 2007. I recently upgraded to Windows 10 and it worked fine. Only trouble came last week when switching to Office 2016. Thanks for replies.


Return to “Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest