I cannot recopy a clip which I have just deleted
This can happen from V9.50 on. From V9.50, duplicate text clips are rejected. If you copy text, delete the clip and then decide you wanted to keep it, you cannot recopy the same text until you have copied something else first. You can, however, retrieve the clip by clicking the "Clipboard History" button.